Certificate of Distinction in Theology

24 units

The Certificate of Distinction in Theology acknowledges the achievement of theology majors who exhibit a mastery of theology coursework in preparation for graduate study by maintaining a GPA of 3.5 or better in 24 units of upper-division work in theology, Church history, or the history of philosophy from the following list:

Required Senior Seminar
THEO 496Senior Seminar: Theology and Social Issues 13
Additional Units
Complete 12 additional units of 400-level coursework in theology, Church history, or 300-level history of philosophy.12
Required Emphasis
Complete 9 units (not yet used above) from one of three emphases:9
Church History Emphasis
Select three of the following:
Seminar in Church History
The Formation of Early Christianity 2
American Christianity 2
Writing 3: The History of Christian Spirituality 2
Global Christianity
Christian Traditions
Systematic Theology Emphasis
Select three of the following:
The Theology of John Wesley
Theologians and Theological Movements
Doctrinal Theology
Theological Ethics
Theology from the Margins
Topics in Systematic Theology
History of Philosophy Emphasis
Select three of the following:
History of Ancient Philosophy
Medieval Philosophy
History of Early Modern Philosophy
History of 19th and 20th Century Philosophy
Total Units24

Meets the General Education Integrative and Applied Learning requirement.


Meets the General Education Writing 3 requirement.