Certificate in TESOL (Field-based)

Each course in the field-based certificate program is composed of three 1-unit courses to be taken in sequential order—A, B, and C. These course groupings are interchangeable with the corresponding 3-unit TESOL courses in the on-campus and online formats.

TESL 505ASecond-language Acquisition: Part I1
TESL 505BSecond-language Acquisition: Part II1
TESL 505CSecond-language Acquisition: Part III1
TESL 515ATeaching English Grammar: Part I1
TESL 515BTeaching English Grammar: Part II1
TESL 515CTeaching English Grammar: Part III1
TESL 535ASociolinguistics and Language Teaching: Part I 11
or TESL 530A Intercultural Communication and Language Teaching: Preparing an Ethnographic Inquiry
TESL 535BSociolinguistics and Language Teaching: Part II 11
or TESL 530B Intercultural Communication and Language Teaching: Implementing an Ethnographic Inquiry
TESL 535CSociolinguistics and Language Teaching: Part III 11
or TESL 530C Intercultural Communication and Language Teaching: Writing up and Reporting an Ethnographic Inquiry
TESL 545ASecond-language Pedagogy I: Part I1
TESL 545BSecond-language Pedagogy I: Part II1
TESL 545CSecond-language Pedagogy I: Part III1
TESL 550ASecond-language Pedagogy II: Part I1
TESL 550BSecond-language Pedagogy II: Part II1
TESL 550CSecond-language Pedagogy II: Part III1
TESL 557AReflective Teaching: Part I 21
TESL 557BReflective Teaching: Part II 21
TESL 557CReflective Teaching: Part III 21
Total Units18